RSS Feed

My Produce Obsession: Red-Skinned Potatoes

I don’t know what my deal is with red-skinned produce lately; I think it’s a mixture of my perception that more pigment = more vitamins, and perhaps a little bit of color-love because of the fall season. Either way, I’m in love with these potatoes for their ability to rescue me from running out to buy lunch. Their super powers allow me to enjoy a hearty, tasty, and relatively healthy hot lunch in about 5 minutes. in  I’m talking about baked potatoes, folks.

Go to any restaurant and ask for a baked potato, and you’ll probably get a russet. Red-skinned potatoes are usually destined for the “smashed” variety. Poor little guys.

However, I think red-skinned (and yukon gold) potatoes are superior for baked potatoes in the microwave. If you throw a russet in there, it comes out pretty dry and you’ve got to load it up with all sorts of sinful things to keep it from clogging your throat on the way down. Not so with these babies. They’re naturally buttery and moist, so all they need is tiny pat of butter, a sprinkling of cheese, and I’ve even had delicious success with low-fat cream cheese.

To heat them up to perfection, I make use of this baked potato bag my grandma made for me. Just plop the potato in there, stick it in the microwave for 5 minutes, and the resulting potato is…perfection. I’m sure you can purchase these bags, but they are apparently really easy to make. If you’re the do-it-yourself type, here’s a link to a super-easy tutorial on how to sew one. It’s very beginner-friendly.

I’m not a beginner. I’m whatever comes before that. I’m a haven’t even considered doing it myself because my grandma made it for me….-er. Maybe I should fix that.

Anywho, this is an awesome, in-season idea for having a hot, tasty lunch food in just 5 minutes. Try it!

Love,

A spudtastic Twentysomething

About lovetwentysomething

I'm just another twenty-something learning how to live and love life!

2 responses »

  1. Message in a Bottle Hunter

    Potatoes are the best 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

